Lumos Kids

Lumos Kids

Lumos Kids

An enrichment program for kind, imaginative and curious homeschool kids in or near the Canton of Zurich.

An enrichment program for kind, imaginative and curious homeschool kids in or near the Canton of Zurich.

Program overview

Overview

Lumos is a enrichment program that brings homeschoolers together from the Canton of Zurich on three half-days a week to focus on hands-on projects, team challenges, free play and other fun activities that maximize social interactions, peer-to-peer learning and the development of 21st century skills like creativity, collaboration, communication and critical thinking.

Program focus

Developing social skills, teamwork, communications & collaborative problem solving.

Calendar

Aug 20, 2024

to

Jul 3, 2025

Frequency

Mondays

Tuesdays

Wednesdays

Thursdays

Fridays

Frequency

Mondays

Tuesdays

Wednesdays

Thursdays

Fridays

Frequency

Mondays

Tuesdays

Wednesdays

Thursdays

Fridays

Hours

11:00 AM
to
3:00 PM

Date of birth

Group 1

2012-2016

Group 2

2017-2019

Group size

10-15 kids per group

Parental involvement

Not required but welcomed.

Location

Wallisellen / Dübendorf area *

* To be determined

Facility

A space that allows for indoor and outdoor activities *

* Still open. Please contact us if you know of a good facility.

Supervision

Two highly qualified teachers

Language

English and German

Costs

Fr. 100 / year

* Additional donations to cover material and rental costs are appreciated, but not required.

Program purpose

Purpose

Our program pursues a dual purpose:

Provide a consistent opportunity for homeschoolers to learn & play together

We are huge believers in the power of homeschooling to spark children’s love of learning, move at the pace that’s best for them and provide flexibility for families. We are also huge believers in the power of kids learning from one another through play, collaborative problem solving and team work. As homeschoolers it’s sometimes difficult to find consistent opportunities for children to learn and grow together within a dedicated community. Lumos solves this problem!

Develop the skills needed to thrive in the 21st century

Due to artificial intelligence and other technological developments, the world is changing faster than ever before. Studies indicate that 65% of today’s elementary students will work in jobs that don’t even exist today. How can we prepare our children to thrive in a world that’s changing so rapidly? By helping them to develop the skills that make humans unique and that will be valuable no matter what jobs exist: collaboration, communication, critical thinking, problem solving, creativity, emotional intelligence. While some of these skills can be developed independently, most are best developed in groups. Lumos focuses on developing these skills.

Learning goals

We are not a school and we are not a replacement for parents homeschooling their children. Our focus is on maximizing the learning and fun that children have when they get together with other children and to develop key 21st century skills that are best learned in groups. To this end, we have four main learning goals:

We are not a school and we are not a replacement for parents homeschooling their children. Our focus is on maximizing the learning and fun that children have when they get together with other children and to develop key 21st century skills that are best learned in groups. To this end, we have four main learning goals:

Social skills

We provide ample opportunity for kids to develop their social-emotional skills through teamwork, collaborative games and challenges, free play and discussions about/reflections upon group dynamics.

Communication skills

Learning to present in front of a group, participate in group discussions, debate, give feedback, negotiate with others, and be persuasive are critical life skills that we develop through our program.

Leadership & teamwork

Being able to work with others, lead teams, resolve conflict, compromise, build upon others’ ideas and be a productive member of a group are essential skills for today and the future. We will provide lots of opportunities for kids to hone these leadership and collaboration skills.

Collaborative Problem Solving

Thinking out of the box, taking risks, persevering in the face of challenges, navigating situations with no clear answers and thinking logically are essential skills that we develop through collaborative challenges and other group problem solving activities.

Format

We run three half-day workshops for homeschoolers each week, one of which is fully immersed in nature. The format of these workshops evolves over time as we take in feedback and ideas from our teachers, parents and, most importantly, the kids. Here is a sample of what the workshops look like:

We run three half-day workshops for homeschoolers each week, one of which is fully immersed in nature. The format of these workshops evolves over time as we take in feedback and ideas from our teachers, parents and, most importantly, the kids. Here is a sample of what the workshops look like:

Team projects

This workshop focuses on team projects in which children learn a variety of skills such as teamwork, creativity, and time management through hands-on experiences. The projects are diverse, suitable for children, and also promote public speaking and perseverance.

Nature explorations

This workshop offers children half a day in nature to explore forests and lakes. This promotes physical and mental well-being, social skills, resilience, problem-solving, and environmental awareness. The activities are diverse and suitable for children.

Team challenges

This workshop focuses on cooperative games, simulations and challenges that promote critical thinking, problem-solving, creativity, communication, teamwork, and leadership in children. The aim is to develop judgment and understanding for a complex world.

Schedule

The program runs from August 20, 2024 to July 3, 2025 (excluding Swiss holidays). Below is the weekly schedule:

The program runs from August 20, 2024 to July 3, 2025 (excluding Swiss holidays). Below is the weekly schedule:

Tuesdays

TEAM PROJECTS

11:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Morning meeting, free time, and choice projects

12:00 - 12:30 PM

Lunch

12:30 - 2:30 PM

Working on team projects

2:30 - 3:00 PM

Free play and cleanup

Wednesdays

NATURE EXPLORATIONS

11:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Morning meeting, free time, and choice projects

12:00 - 12:30 PM

Lunch

12:30 - 1:30 PM

Guided exploration and field study

1:30 - 2:30 PM

Team games and/or nature-inspired projects

2:30 - 3:00 PM

Free play

Thursdays

TEAM CHALLENGES

11:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Morning meeting, free time, and choice projects

12:00 - 12:30 PM

Lunch

12:30 - 2:30 PM

Working on team challenges

2:30 - 3:00 PM

Free play and cleanup

We encourage children to attend two or ideally three days per week, but this is not a requirement.

Location

We are actively in search of an optimal location and facility to host our program. Our focus is primarily centered around the Wallisellen or Dübendorf areas as our initial survey indicated that these locations are most convenient for the majority of homeschool families who have shown interest in our program. We’re looking for a space that allows for indoor & outdoor activities.


If you are aware of a potential space that would suit our needs, we would love to hear from you: info@lumos.kids.

We are actively in search of an optimal location and facility to host our program. Our focus is primarily centered around the Wallisellen or Dübendorf areas as our initial survey indicated that these locations are most convenient for the majority of homeschool families who have shown interest in our program. We’re looking for a space that allows for indoor & outdoor activities.


If you are aware of a potential space that would suit our needs, we would love to hear from you: info@lumos.kids.

Educators

We have recently begun our search for two experienced and qualified teachers to lead our program — one specialized in working with younger kids (born 2017-2019) and one specialized in working with older kids (born 2012-2016). We’re looking to hire warm, fun, kind, open-minded, flexible and creative teachers who adore children and who know how to make learning fun and meaningful.


If you know a teacher who might be a good fit for our program, please send them a link to our job description or contact us at info@lumos.kids.

We have recently begun our search for two experienced and qualified teachers to lead our program — one specialized in working with younger kids (born 2017-2019) and one specialized in working with older kids (born 2012-2016). We’re looking to hire warm, fun, kind, open-minded, flexible and creative teachers who adore children and who know how to make learning fun and meaningful.


If you know a teacher who might be a good fit for our program, please send them a link to our job description or contact us at info@lumos.kids.

Lumos Newsletter

Receive regular updates about what's happening at Lumos.

Lumos Newsletter

Receive regular updates about what's happening at Lumos.

Lumos Newsletter

Receive regular updates about what's happening at Lumos.

Common questions

How much does your program cost?

Is the program a replacement for homeschooling?

Is the program a replacement for regular school?

Why is the program only open to children who were born between 2012 and 2019?

What language will the program operate in?

Where will the program take place?

Who are the teachers?

Are parents expected to participate?

Can my child attend just one or two half-days/week instead of the full three half-days?

My child goes to school. Can s/he still attend the program?

How do I get started with homeschooling in the Canton of Zurich?

Lumos Kids

Lumos Kids

Lumos Kids

Ein Förderprogramm für nette, fantasievolle und neugierige Homeschool Kinder im Kanton Zürich und Umgebung.

Ein Förderprogramm für nette, fantasievolle und neugierige Homeschool Kinder im Kanton Zürich und Umgebung.

Programm Übersicht

Übersicht

Lumos ist ein Förderprogramm, das Homeschool Kinder im Kanton Zürich an drei Halbtagen in der Woche zusammenbringt, um sich auf praktische Projekte, Teamchallenges, freies Spiel und andere unterhaltsame Aktivitäten zu konzentrieren, die soziale Interaktionen, gleichrangiges Lernen und die Entwicklung von Fähigkeiten des 21. Jahrhunderts wie Kreativität, Zusammenarbeit, Kommunikation und kritisches Denken fördern.

Programmschwerpunkt

Entwicklung von Sozialen Kompetenzen, Kommunikationsfähigkeiten, Führungsqualitäten & Teamarbeit und Kollaborative Problemlösung.

Kalender

5. September 2024
bis
10. Juli 2025

Häufigkeit

Montags

Dienstags

Mittwochs

Donnerstags

Freitags

Häufigkeit

Montags

Dienstags

Mittwochs

Donnerstags

Freitags

Häufigkeit

Montags

Dienstags

Mittwochs

Donnerstags

Freitags

Montags

13:00 Uhr
bis
16:00 Uhr

Dienstags & Donnerstags

11:30 Uhr
bis
15:30 Uhr

Jahrgang

Gruppe 1

2013-2016

Gruppe 2

2017-2019

Gruppengröße

15-20 Kinder pro Altersgruppe

Elterliche Mitwirkung

Nicht erforderlich, aber willkommen.

Standort

Raum Wallisellen / Dübendorf *

* Wird noch festgelegt

Räumlichkeiten

Ein Raum, der Aktivitäten drinnen und draußen ermöglicht *

* Bitte melde Dich, wenn Du eine gute Einrichtung kennst.

Betreuung

Zwei hochqualifizierte Lehrkräfte. Sieh unten nach für weitere Details über unsere Pädagogen.

Sprachen

Deutsch und Englisch*

* Fließendes Englisch ist keine Voraussetzung für das Programm.

Kosten

Fr. 100 / Jahr

* Zusätzliche Spenden zur Deckung von Material- und Mietkosten sind willkommen, aber nicht erforderlich.

Zweck des Programms

Zweck

Unser Programm verfolgt einen doppelten Zweck:

Regelmäßige Gelegenheit bieten zum gemeinsamen Lernen und Spielen

Wir glauben fest daran, dass Homeschooling die Liebe der Kinder zum Lernen wecken kann, dass sie sich in dem Tempo bewegen können, das für sie am besten ist, und dass es den Familien Flexibilität bietet. Wir glauben auch fest daran, dass Kinder spielerisch voneinander lernen, gemeinsam Probleme lösen und im Team arbeiten können. Als Homeschooler ist es manchmal schwierig, beständige Gelegenheiten für Kinder zu finden, um in einer engagierten Gemeinschaft zu lernen und gemeinsam zu wachsen. Lumos löst dieses Problem!

Fähigkeiten entwickeln, um im 21. Jahrhundert zu florieren

Aufgrund der künstlichen Intelligenz und anderer technologischer Entwicklungen verändert sich die Welt schneller als je zuvor. Studien zeigen, dass 65% der heutigen Grundschüler in Berufen arbeiten werden, die es heute noch gar nicht gibt. Wie können wir unsere Kinder darauf vorbereiten, in einer sich so schnell verändernden Welt zu florieren? Indem wir ihnen helfen, die Fähigkeiten zu entwickeln, die den Menschen einzigartig machen und die unabhängig von der Art des Arbeitsplatzes wertvoll sein werden: Zusammenarbeit, Kommunikation, kritisches Denken, Problemlösung, Kreativität, emotionale Intelligenz. Einige dieser Fähigkeiten können zwar unabhängig voneinander entwickelt werden, doch die meisten lassen sich am besten in Gruppen entwickeln. Lumos konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung dieser Fähigkeiten.

Lernziele

Wir sind keine Schule und wir sind kein Ersatz für Eltern, die ihre Kinder homeschoolen.

Unser Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Maximierung des Lernens und Spielens, den Kinder haben, wenn sie mit anderen Kindern zusammen sind, und auf der Entwicklung von Schlüsselkompetenzen des 21. Jahrhunderts, die am besten in Gruppen gelernt werden. Darum hat unser Programm vier Lernziele:

Wir sind keine Schule und wir sind kein Ersatz für Eltern, die ihre Kinder homeschoolen.

Unser Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Maximierung des Lernens und Spielens, den Kinder haben, wenn sie mit anderen Kindern zusammen sind, und auf der Entwicklung von Schlüsselkompetenzen des 21. Jahrhunderts, die am besten in Gruppen gelernt werden. Darum hat unser Programm vier Lernziele:

Sozialkompetenzen

Wir bieten reichlich Gelegenheit für Kinder, ihre sozial-emotionalen Fähigkeiten durch Teamarbeit, gemeinschaftliche Spiele und Herausforderungen, freies Spiel sowie Diskussionen und Reflexionen über Gruppendynamiken zu entwickeln.

Kommunikationsfähigkeiten

Das Lernen, vor einer Gruppe zu präsentieren, an Gruppendiskussionen teilzunehmen, zu debattieren, Feedback zu geben, mit anderen zu verhandeln und überzeugend zu sein, sind entscheidende Lebensfähigkeiten, die wir durch unser Programm entwickeln.

Führungsfähigkeiten & Teamarbeit

Die Fähigkeit, mit anderen zusammenzuarbeiten, Teams zu leiten, Konflikte zu lösen, Kompromisse einzugehen, auf den Ideen anderer aufzubauen und ein produktives Mitglied einer Gruppe zu sein, sind wesentliche Fähigkeiten für heute und die Zukunft. Wir bieten zahlreiche Möglichkeiten für Kinder, diese Führungs- und Zusammenarbeitsfähigkeiten zu schärfen.

Kollaborative Problemlösung

Unkonventionell zu denken, Risiken einzugehen, angesichts von Herausforderungen durchzuhalten, Situationen ohne klare Antworten zu navigieren und logisch zu denken, sind wesentliche Fähigkeiten, die wir durch gemeinschaftliche Herausforderungen und andere Gruppenproblemlösungsaktivitäten entwickeln.

Format

Wir führen jede Woche drei halbtägige Workshops für Homeschooler durch, von denen einer vollständig in die Natur eingebunden ist. Das Format dieser Workshops entwickelt sich im Laufe der Zeit weiter, da wir Feedback und Ideen von unseren Lehrern, Eltern und, am wichtigsten, den Kindern aufnehmen. Hier ist ein Beispiel dafür, wie die Workshops aussehen:

Wir führen jede Woche drei halbtägige Workshops für Homeschooler durch, von denen einer vollständig in die Natur eingebunden ist. Das Format dieser Workshops entwickelt sich im Laufe der Zeit weiter, da wir Feedback und Ideen von unseren Lehrern, Eltern und, am wichtigsten, den Kindern aufnehmen. Hier ist ein Beispiel dafür, wie die Workshops aussehen:

Teamprojekte

Dieser Workshop konzentriert sich auf Team-Projekte, in denen Kinder durch praktische Erfahrungen vielfältige Fähigkeiten wie Teamarbeit, Kreativität und Zeitmanagement erlernen. Die Projekte sind vielseitig, kindgerecht und fördern auch öffentliches Reden und Ausdauer.

Naturerlebnisse

Dieser Workshop bietet Kindern einen halben Tag in der Natur, um Wälder und Seen zu erkunden. Dies fördert körperliches und geistiges Wohlbefinden, soziale Fähigkeiten, Widerstandsfähigkeit, Problemlösung und Umweltbewusstsein. Die Aktivitäten sind vielfältig und kindgerecht.

Team-Challenges

Dieser Workshop fokussiert sich auf kooperative Spiele und Herausforderungen, die kritisches Denken, Problemlösung, Kreativität, Kommunikation, Teamarbeit und Führung bei Kindern fördern. Ziel ist die Entwicklung von Urteilsvermögen und Verständnis für eine komplexe Welt.

Wochenplan

Das Lumos Programm läuft vom 5. September 2024 bis zum 10. Juli 2025. Unten findest du den wöchentlichen Zeitplan. Für weitere Details siehe Dir den Jahreskalender an.

Das Lumos Programm läuft vom 5. September 2024 bis zum 10. Juli 2025. Unten findest du den wöchentlichen Zeitplan. Für weitere Details siehe Dir den Jahreskalender an.

Montags

NATURERLEBNISSE

13:00 - 13:30

Geführte Erkundung und Feldforschung

13:30 - 15:30

Teamspiele und/oder von der Natur inspirierte Projekte

15:30 - 16:00

Freies Spiel

Dienstags

TEAM PROJEKTE

11:30 - 12:30

Gesprächskreis, freie Zeit oder Wahlprojekte

12:30 - 13:00

Mittagessen

13:00 - 15:00

Arbeit an Team Projekten

15:00 - 15:30

Freies Spiel und Aufräumen

Donnerstags

TEAM CHALLENGES

11:30 - 12:30

Gesprächskreis, freie Zeit oder Wahlprojekte

12:30 - 13:00

Mittagessen

13:00 - 15:00

Arbeiten an Team Challenges

15:00 - 15:30

Freies Spiel und Aufräumen

Wir ermutigen Kinder, an drei Tagen pro Woche teilzunehmen, obwohl dies nicht verpflichtend ist.

Standort

Wir sind aktiv auf der Suche nach einem optimalen Standort und einer Einrichtung für unser Programm. Wir konzentrieren uns in erster Linie auf die Regionen Wallisellen oder Dübendorf, da unsere erste Umfrage ergeben hat, dass diese Orte für die meisten Homeschool Familien, die Interesse an unserem Programm gezeigt haben, am besten geeignet sind. Wir suchen nach einem Raum, der sowohl Innen- als auch Außenaktivitäten ermöglicht.

Wenn Du Räumlichkeiten kennst, die unseren Bedürfnissen entsprechen, würden wir uns freuen, von Dir zu hören: info@lumos.kids.

Wir sind aktiv auf der Suche nach einem optimalen Standort und einer Einrichtung für unser Programm. Wir konzentrieren uns in erster Linie auf die Regionen Wallisellen oder Dübendorf, da unsere erste Umfrage ergeben hat, dass diese Orte für die meisten Homeschool Familien, die Interesse an unserem Programm gezeigt haben, am besten geeignet sind. Wir suchen nach einem Raum, der sowohl Innen- als auch Außenaktivitäten ermöglicht.

Wenn Du Räumlichkeiten kennst, die unseren Bedürfnissen entsprechen, würden wir uns freuen, von Dir zu hören: info@lumos.kids.

Pädagogen

Wir sind dabei, zwei herausragende Lehrkräfte einzustellen und werden bald mehr Details teilen.

Wir sind dabei, zwei herausragende Lehrkräfte einzustellen und werden bald mehr Details teilen.

Sonja Dänzer

Donut danish danish cake halvah chocolate soufflé sweet roll lemon drops. Apple pie bonbon tootsie roll donut donut dessert.

Celeste Caso

Donut danish danish cake halvah chocolate soufflé sweet roll lemon drops. Apple pie bonbon tootsie roll donut donut dessert.

Lumos Newsletter

Erhalte regelmäßige Updates darüber, was bei Lumos passiert.

Lumos Newsletter

Erhalte regelmäßige Updates darüber, was bei Lumos passiert.

Lumos Newsletter

Erhalte regelmäßige Updates darüber, was bei Lumos passiert.

Häufige Fragen

Was sind die Kosten für das Programm?

Ist das Programm ein Ersatz für mein Homeschooling?

Ist das Programm ein Ersatz für die reguläre Schule?

Warum ist das Programm nur für Kinder offen, die zwischen 2013-2019 geboren wurden?

In welcher Sprache wird das Programm durchgeführt?

Wo wird das Programm stattfinden?

Wer sind die Lehrer?

Was wird von Lumos-Eltern erwartet?

Was wird von Lumos-Kindern erwartet?

Müssen wir an allen drei Tagen teilnehmen?

Mein Kind geht zur Schule. Kann es trotzdem an dem Programm teilnehmen?

Ich homeschool mein(e) Kind(er) noch nicht. Wie fange ich an?

Werdet Ihr alle Familien akzeptieren, die sich bewerben?

Was passiert, wenn wir beitreten und feststellen, dass es nicht für unser Kind oder unsere Familie passt?

Wie werden Entscheidungen bei Lumos getroffen?

Wie sieht der Jahreskalendar aus?

Was ist, wenn wir Urlaub nehmen möchten, während Lumos 'in Sitzung' ist?

Wie werde ich wissen, was bei Lumos vor sich geht?

Wird Lumos Noten oder Schulberichte geben?

Woher kommt der Name Lumos?